“AND I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHERE MY BABY IS BURIED!” Oh For An NHS Future-Gazer!

My good friend Rev’d David Southall, Chaplain at the Worcestershire Royal Hospital, wrote this post which focuses on how far things have come in the last few decades. I thought I would share it here for my readers, as it is very poignant indeed.

CHAPLAIN'S BLOG

None of this for my friend 49 years ago... None of this for my friend 49 years ago…

Today I heard a tragic tale from someone I count as a friend. They had seen that I had been shortlisted for a Butterfly Award for my work with parents who have lost their babies (see my profile here: http://www.thebutterflyawards.com/index.php/voting/userprofile/revdavidsouthall ).

It started as a friendly good morning hug and a chat about the glorious weather and then she said: “I wish you’d been around 49 years ago!” I looked puzzled and so she explained why: “I was pregnant with my fourth child, and my Son was stillborn. There was no one to support me and when he was born I didn’t even get to hold him! It was barbaric and inhumane! And then they said: “we’ll bury him for you” – and that was the last I knew. My guess is that he was buried with 6 or so…

View original post 370 more words

Leave a Reply

